We all have that one Facebook friend, whom we find pretty annoying, whether because they tag us in every post of them, or make us jealous by posting pictures of their endless vacation trips, or any other reason. However, rather than going through the social pain of un-friending someone, Facebook has already offered ways to stay friends with them by allowing to hide their posts entirely from our timeline. But now, the social networking company is rolling out a similar feature that’s a little less severe — temporarily unfollow any of your annoying friends for 30 days.
Yes, Facebook is now giving you a way to hit the mute button on your friends with its new “Snooze” feature. And, the good part is, concerned people won’t be notified that you had hit the “Snooze” button on them either.
“With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time,” the company said in a statement. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified and the setting can be undone at any point.
Basically, the snooze feature is to give people control over their News Feed so they can stay connected with the stories they find most relevant. In fact, the Snooze feature is one of several recent changes that were made as part of an effort to “make Facebook more about social interaction and less about spending time,” according to the Facebook’s blog post.
You can access the snooze feature, by clicking the drop-down menu to the right of the name of a friend/page/group, you want to mute. It comes along with the unfollow option. It started rolling out already, but it might take some time to reach all of Facebook’s 2 billion users.