How to Delete an Instagram Account Permanently?

Instagram has changed the way we keep up to date with friends, family, celebrities and the news. The photo-based platform is used for self-identity, self-expression, and community building, but the constant pressure to diarise our lives and follow what others are doing, can also set unrealistic expectations and create feelings of inadequacy and low self-esteem, high levels of anxiety, depression, and FOMO (fear of missing out).

delete-instagram-feature.

If you are fed up of discovering new and wonderful photographs, liking pictures of your friends or watching one-minute videos of those cute pets on the image sharing social network, you can easily delete your Instagram account and get rid of it.

How to permanently delete your profile from Instagram?

Log into your account on a mobile browser or computer. You can’t delete your account from within the Instagram app.

  • Go to the ‘Delete Your Account’ page, which you will find HERE.
  • From there, choose the reason for deleting your account from the drop-down menu next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’

Instagram-delete-your-account-page-screenshot

  • The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you’ve selected a reason from the menu. You can select any reason.
  • Now, on that page, re-enter your password when prompted.

Instagram-delete-your-account-page-screenshot 1

  • Lastly, click on the ‘Permanently delete my account’ button.
  • That’s it. Your account will be deleted successfully.

NOTE:

When you delete your account, your profile and any photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers associated with that account will be permanently removed. And once you have deleted your account, you won’t be able to sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account. You will not be able to use the same username again and it’s also impossible to reactivate your deleted account.

So, if you would just like to take a break and use your Instagram account later, you can just temporarily disable your account instead. Disable feature will not show your account on Instagram until you do not re-activate it.

How to temporarily disable your Instagram account?

  • Log into your account on a mobile browser or computer. You can’t disable your account from within the Instagram app.
  • Click the user icon in the top right, then select Edit Profile.
  • Scroll down, then click ‘Temporarily disable my account’ on the bottom right of the page
  • From there, choose the reason for deleting your account from the drop-down menu next to ‘Why are you deleting your account?’

temporarily-disable-instagram-account-screenshot

  • Re-enter your password when prompted
  • Lastly, click on the ‘Temporarily Disable Account’

When you disable your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and all other account data will be hidden. However, when you log back in, all of that information will be reactivated.

Discussion

Leave a Reply