How To Recall Sent Messages in Whatsapp

0
59
whatsapp-delete-for-everyone

Ever had an oops moment of sending a message to a wrong person and told “Sorry! wrong window”? The one feature that almost every Whatsapp user had wished for is to be able to unsend the messages we have sent by mistake.  Although Instagram, Telegram Messenger, Viber and many other apps offer the revoke feature, it is new to Whatsapp which is the most used app on smartphones by a billion users. Whatsapp has been working on this functionality lately and it is rolling out the “Delete for everyone” feature to all the Android, iOS and Windows mobile users to avoid all the embarrassing moments.

whatsapp-delete-for-everyone

With the “Delete for everyone” feature, you can revoke all the text messages, audio, video, voice messages, documents, GIF images and more. Although, Broadcast messages can’t be unsent. This implies once a message has been deleted for everyone, it can’t be seen by both the recipient and sender.

The Facebook-owned company has posted the steps to use Delete for everyone functionality in the FAQ section of the website. The post mentioned:

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

How To Delete Messages for Everyone

  1. Download the latest version of Whatsapp.
  2. Open the chat window of any person from your contact list or a group chat. Send a message.
  3. Tap and hold the message to select it. Tap other messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  4. Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

whatsapp-delete-for-everyone

You can revoke messages within 7 minutes after sending. To use this feature, both you and the recipient must contain the latest version of Whatsapp on Android, iOS or Windows phone. If the recipient isn’t using the latest version then the feature won’t function. You won’t be notified if deleting the message wasn’t successful and lastly the revoke feature would be helpful only if the deleted text isn’t read by the recipient.

However, the delete for everyone feature isn’t available to all the WhatsApp users currently because of slow activation according to wabetainfo.

How To Delete Messages for yourself

  1. Open the chat window of any person from your contact list or a group chat. Send a message.
  2. Tap and hold the message to select it. Tap other messages to delete multiple messages at once.
  3. Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for me.

 

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of